|
Hide All |
Show All
|
Reference Databases
Antiques |
Audiobooks
| Auto Repair |
Biography |
Business and Technology |
Children's |
Consumer Information |
Current Events |
Digital Video |
eBooks |
Education and Test Preparation |
Encyclopedias and Reference |
Genealogy |
Health | Law |
Literature |
Newspapers |
Public Records |
Science |
Telephone Directory |
Alphabetical Listing
General Magazine Indexes
FirstSearch:
Many full-text articles from magazines, medical journals, government publications, and other
sources.
Access anywhere
General Reference Center:
Magazines, reference books, and newspapers with full-text articles on current events, the arts,
sciences, and sports.
Access anywhere
Illinois Periodicals Online:
Full-text Illinois journals including Illinois Country Living,
Illinois Heritage, Illinois History: A Magazine for Young People,
Illinois History Teacher, Illinois Issues, Illinois
Libraries, Illinois Municipal Review, Illinois Parks &
Recreation, Outdoor Illinois, and Prairie Farmer.
Access anywhere
PowerSearch:
Simultaneously search the General Reference Center, Student Resource Center,
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center, and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Access
anywhere
SIRS Discoverer:
Full-text magazine and newspaper articles for elementary and middle school students. Access anywhere
SIRS Researcher:
Full-text articles (many with graphics) on social, scientific, historic, economic, political, and
global issues from more than 1,200 newspapers, magazines, journals and
government publications. Access
anywhere
Student Resource Center:
Primary source documents, biographies, and essays, thousands of photographs and
illustrations, plus full-text articles from hundreds of reference books and
magazines.
Access anywhere
Antiques
p4a Antiques Reference:
Current market values of antiques compiled from 50 leading U. S. auction houses. Includes photos for
each item, auction notes, provenance, condition, dimensions, pre-sale estimates, price realized, and
date of sale.
Access anywhere
Audiobooks
MyMediaMall: Audiobooks,
award-winning titles, and best sellers to download to a compatible MP3 or
portable media device. Some titles may be burned to CD and played in the car.
Access
anywhere
Auto Repair
ALLDATA:
Automotive diagnostic and repair information. Includes technical service bulletins, diagrams,
and illustrations. Updated every 30 days.
Available only in the library.
Biography
Biography Resource Center:
Biographical information on more than one million people throughout history, around the world, and
across all disciplines and subject areas.
Access anywhere
Business and Technology
Books24x7:
eBooks from top information technology and business publishers on web development, graphic
design, programming, e-commerce, marketing, management, and other topics.
Access anywhere
Business & Company Resource Center:
Information on more than 300,000 companies and the latest business, management, industry, and
investment news.
Access anywhere
Directory of Obsolete Securities:
Identifies obsolete securities as well as company name changes, reorganizations,
mergers, acquisitions, and bankruptcies. Click Auto Login>Library Reference
for access. Available only in the library. Available only in the library.
Hoover's:
Company, industry, and market information on 40,000 of the world's top business enterprises.
Available only in the library.
Morningstar.com:
Selection tools and information on stocks and mutual funds.
Access anywhere
ReferenceUSA:
Addresses, phone numbers, officers, and SIC codes for 12 million U. S. businesses.
Access anywhere
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage:
Business and investment information with full-text of Standard & Poor’s
Industry Surveys; Stock Reports; Corporation Records; The
Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives; The Outlook;
Mutual Fund Reports; and others.
Access anywhere
ValueLine:
Information and analysis on stocks and mutual funds.
Available only in the library.
Wall Street Journal:
Coverage from 1982 to the present.
Access anywhere
Wilson Select Plus: Full-text articles in business, science, humanities,
and education.
Access anywhere
Children's
Biography Resource Center:
Biographical information on more than one million people throughout history, around the world, and
across all disciplines and subject areas.
Access anywhere
BookFlix: Video storybooks, interactive nonfiction books, puzzles,
games, and author information. Includes Spanish language materials. Presented
by the Friends of the Barrington Area Library.
Access anywhere
CultureGrams: Up-to-date information on cultures
and customs of the world.
Access
anywhere
Literature Resource Center:
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Scribner Writer's Series
includes lengthy signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres.
Access anywhere
NoveList:
Book recommendations for all ages.
Access anywhere
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center:
Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and
full-text magazine and newspaper articles on social issues for middle and high school students.
Access anywhere
SIRS Discoverer:
Full-text magazine and newspaper articles for elementary and middle school students. Access anywhere
SIRS Researcher:
Full-text articles (many with graphics) on social, scientific, historic, economic, political, and
global issues from more than 1,200 newspapers, magazines, journals and
government publications. Access
anywhere
Student Resource Center:
Primary source documents, biographies, and essays, thousands of photographs and
illustrations, plus full-text articles from hundreds of reference books and
magazines.
Access anywhere
World Book:
Full-text, interactive encyclopedia articles, current events, maps, timelines, periodical articles, multimedia features, and more for all ages.
Includes a Spanish-language version.
Access anywhere
World Book Kids:
Full-text articles and multimedia for early elementary students.
Access anywhere
Consumer Information
Consumer Reports: Nonprofit ratings of popular products, full text
of the current issue, plus an archive of reports from the past 4 years. The
library subscribes to premium content; please ask a librarian for access. Available only in the library.
For full-text articles from 1999–previous three months, use the
General Reference Center.
Consumers' Checkbook:
Independent, nonprofit evaluations of the quality and prices of local service
firms and stores, such as auto repair shops, plumbers, dentists, banks, and
insurance companies. Available only in the library.
Public Records Online:
Public filings of new businesses, new homeowners, home sales, home foreclosures, and bankruptcies in Cook, DuPage, Kane, Kendall,
Lake, McHenry, and Will counties.
Access anywhere
Current Events
CQResearcher:
Full-text articles on social and teen issues, environment, health, education, science, and
technology.
Access anywhere
netLibrary:
The Contemporary World Issues series and other ebooks.
Access anywhere
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center:
Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and
full-text magazine and newspaper articles on social issues for middle and high school students.
Access anywhere
Digital Video
BookFlix: Video storybooks, interactive nonfiction books, puzzles,
games, and author information. Includes Spanish language materials. Presented
by the Friends of the Barrington Area Library.
MyMediaMall: Free children’s
programs, documentaries, and travel series, downloadable to a PC or portable
device.
Access
anywhere
eBooks
Books24x7: eBooks from top information technology and business publishers on web development, graphic
design, programming, e-commerce, marketing, management, and other topics.
Access anywhere
Gale
Virtual Reference Library: Encyclopedias and specialized reference
sources for multidisciplinary research.
Access
anywhere
MyMediaMall: Popular, current
titles for adults, young adults, and children.
Access
anywhere
netLibrary:
The Contemporary World Issues series, Cliffs Notes, history,
classics, and other ebooks.
Access anywhere
Education and Test Preparation
ERIC:
Journal articles and reports in education.
Access anywhere
Testing & Education Reference Center:
Interactive practice tests for all major college and graduate entrance exams, civil service,
military, professional, GED, TOEFL, AP, and CLEP tests. College, graduate,
vocational, professional, or private high school search tools.
Access anywhere
Wilson Select Plus: Full-text articles in education, science,
humanities, and business.
Access anywhere
Encyclopedias and Reference
Books in Print:
Reviews, author biographies, and publisher information for books, audiobooks, and DVDs.
Access anywhere
CultureGrams: Up-to-date information on cultures
and customs of the world.
Access
anywhere
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos:
Una enciclopedia de conocimientos generales. Contiene información sobre gente, lugares, objetos, acontecimientos e ideas.
Access anywhere
Encyclopedia Britannica:
Full-text articles from the complete encyclopedia, the Britannica Book of the Year,
and the Britannica Student Encyclopedia.
Access anywhere
Oxford English Dictionary:
Detailed entries focusing on the meaning, origin, historical usage, and pronunciation of words.
Access anywhere
World Book Online:
Full-text, interactive encyclopedia articles, current events, maps, timelines, periodical articles, multimedia features, and more for all ages.
Includes a Spanish-language version.
Access anywhere
Genealogy
America's Obituaries and Death Notices:
Newspaper obituaries and death notices from around the country.
Access anywhere
Ancestry Library Edition:
Complete U. S. census records for 1790–1930, and a wide range of unique resources, charts, and forms.
Available only in the library.
HeritageQuest:
Complete U. S. census records for 1790–1930, many family and local histories, and genealogy periodical articles.
Access anywhere
Health
Health & Wellness Center:
Full-text articles on fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, substance abuse, HMOs, and prescription drugs.
Access anywhere
MEDLINE: All areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.
Access anywhere
Teen Health and Wellness:
Articles, interactive quizzes, and self-help resources about nutrition, fitness,
diseases, drugs, alcohol, mental health, family life, and more.
Access
anywhere
Law
IICLE SmartBooks:
Over 100 full-text legal practice handbooks from the Illinois Institute for Continuing Legal Education.
Available only in the library.
Westlaw:
Full-text of Smith-Hurd Illinois Compiled Statutes Annotated, Illinois Decisions,
West's Illinois Administrative Code, standard Illinois legal and business forms, and other resources.
Available only in the library.
Literature
Book Review Digest Plus: Over one million book reviews
from 1983–present.
Access
anywhere
Booklist: Book and audiobook reviews
from 1992–present, reading recommendations, and feature articles for readers.
Access
anywhere
Books in Print:
Reviews, author biographies, and publisher information for books, audiobooks, and DVDs.
Access anywhere
Fiction Connection:
Discover titles similar to books you already enjoy.
Access anywhere
Literature Resource Center:
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. Scribner Writer's Series
includes lengthy signed essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres.
Access anywhere
LitFINDER:
Full-text of more than 125,000 poems and thousands of short stories, essays,
speeches, and plays.
Access anywhere
New York Times Book Review:
Full-text articles from the Sunday New York Times book review section from 2000 to the present.
Access anywhere
NoveList:
Book recommendations for all ages.
Access anywhere
Newspapers
America's Newspapers:
Full-text electronic editions of over 600 U. S. newspapers.
Access anywhere
America's Obituaries and Death Notices:
Newspaper obituaries and death notices from around the country.
Access anywhere
Barrington Courier-Review (Current):
Full-text local news articles from 1995 to the present.
Access anywhere
Barrington Courier-Review Index:
Index to news articles from 1970–2004, and births,
deaths, and marriages from 1890–2006.
Access anywhere
Barrington Review (Historical):
Full-page reproductions of the paper from 1914–1921 and April 23, 1925–November 13, 1930.
Access anywhere
Chicago Tribune (Current):
Full-text local and regional news articles from 1985 to the present.
Access anywhere
Chicago Tribune (Historical):
Full-page and article reproductions of every available issue from 1890–1986.
Access anywhere
Chicago Tribune (RedEye):
Full-text, concise news articles from 2002 to the present.
Access anywhere
Daily Herald:
Full-text local and regional news articles from 1995 to the present.
Access anywhere
Daily Herald Index:
Index to Daily Herald articles from 1901–1964.
Access anywhere
New York Times (Current):
Full-text New York Times articles from 2000 to the present.
Access anywhere
New York Times (Historical):
Full-page and article reproductions from 1851–2001.
Access anywhere
New York Times Book Review:
Full-text articles from the Sunday New York Times book review section from 2000 to the present.
Access anywhere
New York Times Magazine:
Full-text articles from the Sunday New York Times magazine section from 2000 to the present.
Access anywhere
Wall Street Journal:
Coverage from 1982 to the present.
Access anywhere
Washington Post:
Coverage from 1977 to the present.
Access
anywhere
Public Records
Public Records Online:
Public filings of new businesses, new homeowners, home sales, home foreclosures, and bankruptcies in Cook, DuPage, Kane, Kendall,
Lake, McHenry, and Will counties.
Access anywhere
Science
AccessScience:
Full-text science and technology articles, research updates, and dictionary terms.
Access anywhere
Wilson Select Plus: Full-text articles in science, humanities,
education, and business.
Access anywhere
Telephone Directory
Residential and Business Directory:
Phone numbers for 120 million households and 12 million businesses in the U. S.
Access anywhere
|