BAL on Facebook BAL on Twitter BAL YouTube Channel BAL Local History's photostream

twitter talk

Book Clubs, Book Discussions, Book Club Collection


Titles in our Book Club Collection

Multiple copies of books are available for a 6-week loan period. They are available on a first come, first served basis.
What titles will your club be discussing in the future? Contact the Adult Services Department and let us know. This information helps us to make purchasing decisions for our Book Club Collection.

Barrington Area Library Book Discussions, 2015-2016

Join professional book discussion leader Lanny Ori for thought-provoking discussion of notable titles. Books are available at the Adult Services reference desk approximately one month prior to the discussion. Use the links below to register for upcoming discussions.

All the Light we Cannot See by Anthony Doerr
Tuesday, Oct 20, 7:30 PM or
Thursday, Oct 22, 2 PM

Everything I Never Told You
by Celeste Ng
Tuesday, Nov 17, 7:30 PM or
Thursday, Nov 19, 2 PM

The Short and Tragic Life of Robert Peace by Jeff Hobbs
Tuesday, Jan 19, 7:30 PM or
Thursday, Jan 21, 2 PM

Stones for Ibarra
by Harriet Doer
Tuesday, Feb 16, 7:30 PM or
Thursday, Feb 18, 2 PM

A Change of Climate by Hilary Mantel
Tuesday, Mar 15, 7:30 PM or
Thursday, Mar 17, 2 PM

The Wife of Martin Guerre by Janet Lewis
Tuesday, April 19, 7:30 PM or
Thursday, April 21, 2 PM

Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End by Atul Gawande
Tuesday, May 17, 7:30 PM or
Thursday, May 19, 2 PM

Subscribe to the Lanny Ori Book Discussion Group e-mail list

* indicates required

Email Format



Join librarians Liz and Sam to discuss popular titles in a social book club for adults. Meets upstairs at The Annex, 205 Park, right next to McGonigal's in downtown Barrington. We'll provide some appetizers or desserts - other food and beverages available for purchase.

Monday, November 9, 7 PM: Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

Monday, December 14, 7 PM: BYOB (Bring Your Own Book)

Monday, January 18, 7 PM: Just Mercy: A Story of Justice and Redemption by Bryan Stevenson

Monday, February 8, 7 PM: The Martian by Andy Weir

Monday, March 14, 7 PM: Missoula: Rape and the Justice System in a College Town by Jon Krakauer

Monday, April 11, 7 PM: Whisky & Charlie by Annabel Smith

Monday, May 9, 7 PM: Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania by Erik Larson

Monday, June 13, 7 PM: Black River by SM Hulse


Book Club Resources

Award-winning Books: Directory of awards and prize winners. 
Reading Group Guides: The online community for reading groups. Questions for your discussions can be found on this website. Search by author, title and subject.
Goodreads: Can help you decide what to read next based on what you've enjoyed in the past.
LitLovers: Discussion guides, titles suggestions, and reviews.
Database with book recommendations for all ages. Reviews and discussion guides.
What to Do When There's No Discussion Guide Available:
General questions from






JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Get short email blasts with the newest books, DVDs and audiobooks.
sign up for email alerts