View the titles in our Book Club Collection

Barrington Area Library Book Discussions

Join professional book discussion leader Lanny Ori for thought-provoking discussion of notable titles. Books are available at the Adult Services reference desk approximately one month prior to the discussion. Use the links below to register for upcoming discussions - the group takes a hiatus in the summer months. Get on the Lanny Ori Book Discussion Group e-mail list and stay up-to-date on the selected books and discussion dates.

Just Mercy  by Bryan Stevenson

Tuesday, January 17, 7:30 PM
Thursday, January 19, 2 PM

On Chesil Beach   by Ian McEwan

Tuesday, February 21, 7:30 PM
Thursday, February 23, 2 PM

Into the Wild   by Jon Krakauer

Tuesday, March 21, 7:30 PM
Thursday, March 23, 2 PM

My Name is Lucy Barton   by Elizabeth Strout

Tuesday, April 18, 7:30 PM
Thursday, April 20, 2 PM

Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde   by Robert Louis Stevenson

Tuesday, May 16, 7:30 PM
Thursday, May 18, 2 PM


 

 

 LIT

Join librarians Liz and Sam to discuss popular titles in a social book club for adults. Meets upstairs at McGonigal's in downtown Barrington. We'll provide some appetizers or desserts - other food and beverages available for purchase.

In the Shadow of the Banyan by Vaddey Ratner

Monday, January 9, 7 PM

Circling the Sun by Paula McLain

Monday, February 13, 7 PM

Did You Ever Have a Family by Bill Clegg

Monday, March 13, 7 PM

Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson

Monday, April 10, 7 PM

Lab Girl by Hope Jahren

Monday, May 8, 7 PM 

The Last Painting of Sara de Vos by Dominic Smith

Monday, June 12, 7PM

 


Book Club Resources

Award-winning Books: Directory of awards and prize winners.
Reading Group Guides: The online community for reading groups. Questions for your discussions can be found on this website. Search by author, title and subject.
Goodreads: Can help you decide what to read next based on what you've enjoyed in the past.
LitLovers: Discussion guides, titles suggestions, and reviews.
NoveList
:
Database with book recommendations for all ages. Reviews and discussion guides.
What to Do When There's No Discussion Guide Available:
General questions from ReadingGroupGuides.com


Talk to Us

What titles will your club be discussing in the future? Contact Liz Kirchhoff. This information helps us to make purchasing decisions for our book club collection.

Get short email blasts with the newest books, DVDs and audiobooks. sign up for email alerts