3M Cloud Library: download and read e-books on your PC/Mac, your mobile device or favorite e-reader (Download special instructions for Kindle Fire). Great options for kids, teens and adults. Browse the 3M Cloud Library now.
Adult Learning Center: Resume review and live tutoring sessions from trained adult education instructors.
ALLDATA: Automotive diagnostic and repair information. Includes technical service bulletins, diagrams, and illustrations. Updated every 30 days. Available only in the library.
America's News: Find information on topics related to business, education, health, government and more. America's News searches over 600 local & national news publications including Barrington Courier-Review, Daily Herald, Chicago Sun-Times and USA Today.
America's Obituaries and Death Notices: Newspaper obituaries and death notices from around the country.
Atomic Training: Increase your computer skills anytime at your own pace. Tutorials on all the most popular products (iLife, iPad, Microsoft Office Suite) are available 24/7, 7 days a week.
Barrington Courier-Review (Current): Full-text local news articles from 9/28/1995 to the present.
Barrington Courier-Review Index: Index to news articles from 1970-2004, and births, deaths, and marriages from 1890-2006.
Barrington Courier-Review (Historical): Full-page reproductions from 1914-1921, and April 23, 1925-November 13, 1930.
BookFlix: Video storybooks, interactive nonfiction books, puzzles, games, and author information. Includes Spanish language materials.
Books24x7: See Computer Books 24x7.
Business Insights: Essentials: Information on more than 500,000 companies and the latest business, management, industry, and investment news.
NEW! Business Searching Interface: Access more than 1,150,000 company profiles, company financials, industry profiles, market research, & SWOT analyses.
NEW! Business Source Complete: Complete a comprehensive search of over 1,800 trade journals & general business magazines, case studies, and books.
The Careers College™: A career services program that provides online job search courses and tools along with a virtual career resource center dedicated to helping job seekers, college undergraduates and graduates, and individuals in transition land the ideal job in any economy.
Chicago Tribune (Current): Full-text news articles and obituaries from 1985 to the present.
Chicago Tribune (Historical): Full-page and article reproductions of every available issue from 1849-1989.
Comics Plus: Library Edition:(Trial Service) No app needed to enjoy access to over 7,000 comic books and graphic novels. This web-based service enables you to have up to three titles on your digital shelf at one time. Click "Register Now," sign-in, and read titles from your computer, tablet, smart phone, or any other device with a modern browser.
Computer Books 24x7: Computer ebooks from top information technology and business publishers on web development, graphic design, programming, e-commerce, marketing, management, and other topics.
Consumer Reports: Remote access to full-text issues is now available through MasterFILE Complete. Click publications in the blue task bar & search for Consumer Reports. Browse or search full text from issues 1991 - Present.
Consumer Reports: Nonprofit ratings of popular products, full text of the current issue, plus an archive of reports from the past 4 years. The library subscribes to premium content; please ask a librarian for access. For remote access to Consumer Reports, please use MasterFILE Complete.
Consumers' Checkbook: Independent, nonprofit evaluations of the quality and prices of local service firms and stores, such as auto repair shops, plumbers, dentists, banks, and insurance companies.
Consumers' Checkbook Healthcare: Login and click the health care link to gain access to Consumers' Checkbook Healthcare. Doctors are reviewed by other doctors and consumers.
CultureGrams: Up-to-date information on cultures and customs of the world.
Daily Herald: Local and regional news articles from 1995 to the present.
Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos: Una enciclopedia de conocimientos generales. Contiene información sobre gente, lugares, objetos, acontecimientos e ideas.
Encyclopedia Britannica: Full-text articles from the complete encyclopedia, the Britannica Book of the Year, and the Britannica Student Encyclopedia.
ERIC: Journal articles and reports in education.
FINTEL Business Scorecard: An easy to understand, quick and insightful snapshot of selected factors of your company's performance in comparison with your industry peers and competitors.
FINTEL Industry Metrics: View industry benchmarks for more than 2,000 industries down to individual counties and metropolitan areas.
FirstSearch: Many full-text articles from magazines, medical journals, government publications, and other sources.
Fold3: Access to US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served.
Freegal Music: Download five songs per week from a database of popular and classical music.
NEW! Gale Courses: Barrington Area Library cardholders can enroll in courses ranging from beginning drawing to accounting & finance. Courses are offered once a month, span 6 weeks, and are led by an expert instructor who will be responsive to each student's learning needs.
Next session begins September 17.
Gale Virtual Reference Library: Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
General Reference Center: Magazines, reference books, and newspapers with full-text articles on current events, the arts, sciences, and sports.
HelpNow!: Live one-on-one online tutoring service for homework help and writing assistance. Includes Spanish language tutoring. Grades 3-12. Available everyday from 2:00-11:00 p.m.
HeritageQuest: U. S. census records for 1790-1930, many family and local histories, and genealogy periodical articles.
hoopla: Stream up to eight audiobooks, movies, or television shows per month, on your computer or mobile device. Great options are available for kids, teens, and adults. Please note that hoopla uses streaming media and performance will depend on your Internet speed.
Hoover's: Company, industry, and market information on 40,000 of the world's top business enterprises. Available only in the library.
LexisNexis: News, business, and legal information including coverage of over 44 million U.S. and international companies, case law, statutes, and regulations, and access to over 1,000 national, regional, and international news publications.
Literature e-Resources: One stop for all of our literature resources. Find literary criticism, author biographies, book suggestions, e-books and more.
Mango Languages: Learn a new language: French, Italian, Spanish, German, Russian, Japanese, Greek, Brazilian Portuguese; as well as English for Spanish, Portuguese, and Polish speakers. Go to Apple's App Store to download the free Mango Mobile Library Edition app for iPhone, iPod Touch and iPad. NEW! - get the free Android app. To use the app, you will need to set up a free account with Mango on your computer.
NEW! MasterFILE Complete: Search more than 2,200 full-text magazines, journals, & newspapers including Consumer Reports.
MEDLINEPlus: All areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing.
Morningstar Investment Research Center: Selection tools and information on stocks and mutual funds
Naxos Music Library: Naxos Music Library is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 86,420 albums with more than 1,259,200 tracks, including standard and rare repertoire.
Naxos Video Library: An extensive streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts and documentaries. Watch the world's greatest opera houses, ballet companies, orchestras and artists perform on demand!
New York Times (Historical): Full-page and article reproductions from 1851-2009.
NoveList: Book recommendations for all ages.
OneClick: Thousands of audiobooks for kids and adults are available through the OneClickdigital collection. Use your BALibrary card to create a free account, then start downloading today. Get the FREE OneClickdigital iPhone app.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center: Viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles on social issues.
OverDrive: Audiobooks and ebooks for portable media devices.
Oxford English Dictionary: Detailed entries focusing on the meaning, origin, historical usage, and pronunciation of words.
p4a Antiques Reference: Current market values of antiques compiled from 50 leading U. S. auction houses. Includes photos for each item, auction notes, provenance, condition, dimensions, pre-sale estimates, price realized, and date of sale.
PowerSearch: Simultaneously search the General Reference Center, Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center, and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Public Records Online: Public filings of new businesses, new homeowners, home sales, home foreclosures, and bankruptcies in Cook, DuPage, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, and Will counties.
ReferenceUSA: Addresses, phone numbers, officers, and SIC codes for 14 million U. S. businesses.
Residential Database: Phone numbers for 120 million U. S. households.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage: Business and investment information with full-text of S&P's Industry Surveys; Stock and Mutual Fund Reports; The Outlook and more.
TrueFlix:Explore history and science through interactive e-books, videos and activities.
Value Line: Information and analysis on stocks and mutual funds.
Wall Street Journal: Coverage from 1984 to the present.
Westlaw: Full-text of Smith-Hurd Illinois Compiled Statutes Annotated, Illinois Decisions, West's Illinois Administrative Code, standard Illinois legal and business forms, and other resources. Available only in the library.
World Book: Full-text, interactive encyclopedia articles, current events, maps, timelines, periodical articles, multimedia features, and more for all ages. Includes versions for young children and Spanish speakers.
World Book Kids: Full-text articles and multimedia for early elementary students.
WorldCat: Search other libraries for books, DVDs, CDs, and other materials. To get to WorldCat click on the down arrow to the right of Jump to Advanced Search and highlight WorldCat.
Zinio: Take your favorite magazine with you wherever you go! Use your library card to create an account and read some of the most popular magazine titles on your computer or mobile device. Download step-by-step instructions in PDF or Word doc. See a PDF list of titles available on Zinio.
NEW - back issues are now available for many of our Zinio titles. Subscribe to your favorites on Zinio and you'll see which back issues are available. Back issue availability is based on when the library began its subscription to that title through Zinio.